top of page

3-day weekend spent at HK

Have you been thinking of having a quick getaway trip on any of the remaining 9 long weekends of 2018?

One of the best spontaneous trips I took was during my latest travel to Hong Kong! I've been to HK before with friends so it was easy for me to visit the place again. Here are our suggestions for a 3-day weekend in Asia's World City!

Getting there: There are many airlines flying to Hong Kong from the different airports in the country. The easiest for me was thru NAIA Terminal 3. The new terminal reassignments has not yet been finalized, so save the hassle and delay by asking your airline at which terminal will you be departing from. You can plan ahead of time and watch out for airfare promos or the piso fares. I booked my trip on the spur of the moment using my Get Go points and only paid for the taxes and fees

Where to stay: During both my trips to Hong Kong, I stayed in Chungking Mansions in Tsim Sha Tsui. It is not a hotel but you get to have a private bed and bath. What more can I ask for? The building is directly above the MTR, with a mall in front of it and night markets within walking distance. For photography enthusiasts, you will love taking long exposure night shots of the busy street in front of this building. I booked with the same travel agency since I already had his number on Viber. He gave me the room for the same price 2 years ago and let me check-in 3 hours earlier than the usual. Loyalty gets you rewards!

First things first: Octopus Card! It is a versatile stored-value electronic card that can be used for most public transport, as well as purchases in convenience stores, fast food, shops, supermarkets, vending machines, and more. You can purchase the Adult Octopus Card for 100 HKD (preloaded with 50 HKD and deposit of 50 HKD which will be refunded if you return the card) in any of the convenience stores at the airport upon your arrival. It is also available online through Klook or any travel app you have. I already had an Octopus card from 2 years ago and was surprised that I still had 120 Hong Kong dollars in it. I learned that it gets deactivated only after 1,000 days but you can always reactivate and reload it.

Getting around: Easy! With the use of your Octopus Card and the organized chaos of Hong Kong's transportation system, you can get anywhere you want to. The Airport Express is the easiest way to and from the airport, especially if you have early morning and late night flights. The MTR is the main transport system in this country and is easily accessible. I prefer walking whenever I am abroad but there are also buses and taxis available.

Gastronomic experience: “When in Hong Kong, eat what Hong Kongers eat." And there is no better way of doing that than by sampling their absolutely appetizing street goodies. With cheap stalls scattered all over the bustling streets, your 50 HK dollars will go a long way. I like the curry fish balls, noodle bowls, egg waffles, organs in a pot, fried pig intestines and other skewered delights found in the food stalls at Temple Street and Mong Kok area. There are also Michelin restaurants all over the city if you want to explore finer dining. I only get the chance to eat in proper restaurants when I meet up with anyone from Hong Kong. For this trip, my cousin bought me lunch in a dim sum restaurant in Harbour City.

Tip: Let me mention Australia Dairy Company, they had the best scrambled eggs ever! (Sadly, our servers were rude that day.) It will help if you already searched online which food you are going to order and just show them the picture. Most servers in small restaurants do not speak English very well.

Shopping: After satisfying my gastronomic desires, I went straight to what I came for -- shopping. There are MANY night markets within the city. From Ladies’ Market to Temple Street, Sneaker Street, etc., the sky's the limit when it comes to finances. I also went shopping at Causeway Bay for branded clothes, Sham Shui Po for electronics, Cat Street Bazaar for handicraft souvenirs and window shopping for high-end products at Central. There's never a bad time to shop in Hong Kong. But from July to September, there are summer sale promotions everywhere.

THE PEAK: I got to experience The Peak again and with the beautiful night view this time. I only bought tickets for the Peak Tram + Sky Pass, but tickets for Chocolate Museum, Trick Eye Museum, and Madame Tussauds are also available. I advise you purchase the roundtrip tickets because the lines can get really long. HARBOUR VIEW: I enjoyed the junk boat ride before so I tried it again. This time I did it on a beautiful boat with purple dragon sails. The ticket includes a one hour cruise and a drink. I boarded at Central (where you can enjoy the festival atmosphere while waiting for your boat) and decided to end my ride at Tsim Sha Tsui in order for me to enjoy the rest of the night walking OCEAN ADVENTURE: On my second day, I met up with my cousin and her sons and we went to Ocean Adventure. The kids really enjoyed the rides and I could spend the whole day riding the cable car and watching the pandas in The Great Panda Adventure. There are lots of things to do especially if you purchased the all-day ticket. Other Attractions: The last time I was in Hong Kong, I also enjoyed Disneyland and the ride going there. Nobody's too old for Disneyland. Ocean Park is a different thing and if you are going to choose between the two, I suggest you go for the latter. Ngong Ping is a nice place to visit too. You get to ride the cable car going there and you get to visit Tian Tan Big Buddha and the Po Lin Monastery which offer very affordable delectable snacks. The egg tarts in the cable car terminal of Ngong Ping is worth mentioning because it is savory and it is totally different from the sweet egg tart desserts we are used to. Tip: If you have time and a way, get attraction tickets through any travel sites or apps online. It will save you time and money, plus you can avoid the long queues and hassle in ticketing booths.

EXPENSES: Airfare = P2,200 (Taxes and fees -- Manila and Hong Kong airport fees included) Accommodations = P1,300 (2 nights) Octopus card = P650 Food = P1,200 The Peak = P625 Junk Boat = P1,300 Ocean Adventure = P2,700 (SHOPPING expenses depends on your budget and willingness to splurge) ITINERARY: Day 1 – The Peak and Victoria Harbour Day 2 – Ocean Adventure Day 3 – Shopping

bottom of page